So, How’s Your Camel Hump?

image

I confess. I ate camel hump. Yes, I am a vegetarian and I don’t really think it is nice to eat the hump of a camel. But, there I was in Beijing with my daughter and camel hump was on the menu. I just had to order it, if only to be able to say…

“So, how’s your camel hump?”

and

“Yesterday, while I was eating camel hump…”

and

“Can I have a box to take my leftover camel hump home?”

Seriously, I just couldn’t miss the opportunity.

I can’t say I would order it again. Camel hump just isn’t that good, at least not the one I had.

Instead, my daughter and I revisited our favorite small back alley restaurant to get their eggplant and homemade noodles; they were fabulous. And the day we had to fly home from Beijing, we went and bought a whole bunch of it to eat on the plane. And, I bought extra for my son.

When I got home, the cab dropped me off and I knocked on my front door. My son opened the door and I held out the bag of eggplant and noodles.

“Chinese take-out….REALLY!”

Speaking of China, Older Women Cheap Travel is heading to Mongolia (and Beijing) this summer!

Learn more about our upcoming trip to Nicaragua in January 2016! Seven spots left!

Learn more about all our trips, how we travel, and how little it costs at Older Women, Cheap Travel!

One thought on “So, How’s Your Camel Hump?

Leave a Reply

