Senior Women, Budget Travel

A cheap hostel in Tampa, Florida where, for one fourth the price of a hotel room, you can soak in the jacuzzi, buy a $2 beer from the cooler, and share dinner with fellow travelers.
A cheap hostel in Tampa, Florida where, for one fourth the price of a hotel room, you can soak in the jacuzzi, buy a $2 beer from the cooler, and share dinner with fellow travelers.

Someone asked me the other day at my Older Women, Cheap Travel Meetup, over delicious pupusas at an El Salvadorean restaurant (Los Chorros in Wheaton, Maryland….check it out….really nice place with great drinks and wonderful waitstaff), why I didn’t call my company Senior Women, Budget Travel? She thought the words “older” and “cheap” were kind of degrading. I had to laugh because this had never occurred to me. In fact, the real reason I chose this name for my company was because when I was checking out affordable travel for women of my age, the words I put into Google were “older women” and “cheap travel”! I guess I didn’t choose “senior women” because that denotes a specific age which tends to mean old enough to get senior discounts and retired. I put in “older women” because this could mean women in their fifties and, perhaps, forties as well, a larger age span of women over the age of necessarily wanting to have a “girls gone wild” vacation (so there is no exact youngest or oldest age requirement; just the mindset of a more mature woman). I put in “cheap” rather than “budget” because I have found “budget” often simply means a bit less than ridiculously expensive. “Cheap”, on the other hand, usually means keeping it is close to free as possible…and that is what I was looking for.

So, if you want to be with a group of women of any age who considers themselves more mature than a college student, our trips can accommodate you. And if you want the bottom of the budget barrel, we aim to please! Older Women, Cheap Travel is about getting to travel cheaply so we can travel more often, to travel cheaply so we can get away from all the stuffy tourist venues, to travel cheaply so we can mix with the people in the country instead of always being sheltered in pricey tourist hotels and restaurants and buses.

So “Senior Women, Budget Travel” may have been a better choice for some, but, for me, “Older Women, Cheap Travel” is just exactly what it is all about. But, no worries, I got smart and I just made a sister site called “Senior Women, Budget Travel” So, one bird, two stones, eh?

Learn more about our upcoming trip to Nicaragua in January 2016!

Learn more about all our trips, how we travel, and how little it costs at Older Women, Cheap Travel!

Leave a Reply

