Thinking Our Way of Thinking is Normal

Not so Easy to Explain to a Hindu
Not so Easy to Explain to a Hindu

I had an interesting experience recently while touring the National Gallery of Art in Washington DC with three Indian friends. We were in the collection with Byzantine altarpieces and much Christian iconography and my friend who has lived in the US for two decades asked me about the meaning of the artwork. So, I gave a short tour explaining Mary and baby Jesus and what the cross means and then, since she asked more questions, I gave her a fuller rundown of the story of Jesus and the Christian religion. As I was doing this, I realized that we take for granted in this country that everyone in the world is completely familiar with basic Christianity and we have no clue that there are many across the globe that know no more about the Christian religion than most of America knows about the Hindu religion.

When a Hindu tries to explain Ganesha, the elephant god to nonHindus, he will get a look of utter disbelief and amusement at “such a silly myth.” Well, I saw that same look on my Indian friend’s face when I explained the story of Jesus Christ! To her, Christianity is a mighty peculiar religion, full of fanciful stories and odd beliefs. The gods and goddesses of Hinduism, on the other hand, are normal and comfortable, and the stories attached to them, fully a part of daily life.

My Home Mandir
My Home Mandir

I can understand a bit of what my friend experienced because I, myself, am Hindu. And, after spending time in India and in numerous temples and taking part in many Hindu ceremonies, I found myself in a Catholic church staring at Christ hanging from the cross, blood pouring out from his hands and feet. And, I remember thinking, how strange, and wishing for some murtis (statues) of Ram and Sita, of Lakshmi, of Krishna, and of Ganesh, the kind elephant god. Christianity had become strange to me, not wrong, just a different way of expressing spirituality that no longer spoke to me.

One of the reasons we have trouble understanding other cultures is that we tend to believe that our own is the one that is “right” or is “better” or “sensible”. We fail to realize that people of other cultures are looking back at us in the same way; in fact, billions of them! They think our culture and religion is just as weird as we think their culture and religion is weird. If only we spent more time visiting with people of other cultures and subcultures….maybe then we would learn to appreciate another way of thinking and this could make a whole lot of difference in how we treat each other on a daily basis and stop irrational fears from creating a uncrossable gorge between our two worlds as if each side were not populated with human beings, human beings who, in reality, are just like us.

Baby Jesus and Baby Krishna
Baby Jesus and Baby Krishna

Learn more about our upcoming trip to Nicaragua in January 2016!

Learn more about all our trips, how we travel, and how little it costs at Older Women, Cheap Travel!

One thought on “Thinking Our Way of Thinking is Normal

  1. We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.
    Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

    Pat,

    I grew up in an Irish Catholic family and went to Catholic school through college, and I find Christianity weird, too. Not wrong, of course, but definitely not for me. I could never understand most of the religious dogma. I never could understand why women in the church had no authority except to be a nun.
    I wanted to be an altar girl when I was young, (I figured it may help keep me focused and engaged more) but alas, I was female and only boys could serve God with the male priests at the altar. (Girls now can be altar girls…. Big whoop!)

    Actually, I never connected with the Catholic religion and have found as I grow older, I can be a spiritual person and find the path that is right for me. I like to hear about various viewpoints and take what I can from them if it helps me become a better person.

    I agree with you that people need to better understand different cultures and viewpoints. We are trying to teach our kids this by visiting various cultural events during the summer like the Muslim
    Cultural event, where they can ride a camel, the Hindi festival, to see the lovely dances and the Greek Orthodox Church festival are our favorite summer events. We get to see the inside of the temples and churches and, of course, eat the most delicious food made by people who know how to make it!

    (Funny fact, my wife’s parents are a former Catholic priest and Catholic nun).
    They met because her mom was thinking about leaving the church, so her superiors recommended counseling, and the counselor ended up being a priest who wanted to leave the priesthood… Married a year after that!

    Thanks again for your insightful writing!
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

